NES employs its own version of the System Development Life Cycle (SDLC). The definition of the SDLC is the overall process of developing information systems through a multi-step process from investigation of initial requirements through analysis, design, implementation and maintenance.

The steps taken in any project are as follows:

• Requirements Analysis
The requirements gathering step is the most critical. This is completed through a series of discussions with the client in order to develop and clarify the vision of the end goal.

• Technical Design
At this point the technical aspects of the project are addressed. Prototype screens and a database design is completed. This information is then presented to the client and refined as required. Once the client has accepted the overall design a time-line and cost can be decided.

The development step is where the majority of the brute-force work takes place. The design is turned into a functional system. Each module is then presented to and tested by the client in order to ensure that the general functionality of the design is met. This step typically goes through a series of iterations.

At this point a complete system is prepared where all the modules have been brought together into a single application. The client beta tests the application and any feedback is incorporated.

• Client Acceptance
The complete system receives a full test by end-users to ensure that it meets the requirements detailed in the specification.

• Project Documentation and User Manuals
The appropriate documentation is prepared detailing both the technical and functional aspects of the application.

• Training
End-users are trained in the use of the system.

• Deployment
The completed system is installed.